Jefferson Community College Holds 45th Commencement

WATERTOWN, N.Y., May 15, 2009  ó  Jefferson Community College will hold its 45th annual commencement ceremony on Friday, May 15 at 7:30 p.m. in the McVean Student Center Gymnasium. 

Jeffersonís class of 2009 is comprised of 495 students who graduated in December 2008 or are candidates for graduation in May or August of 2009, pending satisfactory completion of coursework. Fourteen students will receive two degrees each, bringing the total number of degrees awarded to 509, of which 135 are A.A.S. degrees, 147 are A.A. degrees, 212 are A.S. degrees and 15 are certificates. The class of 2009 includes Jeffersonís first graduates of the Teaching Assistant Certificate program. The popularity of distance learning is evident in the class of 2009. Particularly noteworthy is the fact that 23 graduates completed their degree by taking strictly online courses and more than half (67%) of graduates took at least one online course from Jefferson. Jefferson continues to be a strong educational partner of Fort Drum. Thirty percent of this graduating class is comprised of active duty Soldiers and their family members, veterans, retirees or members of the Army Reserves.

Cindy F. Intschert, J.D., Jefferson County district attorney and distinguished Jefferson alumna, will deliver the keynote commencement address. She has served with the Jefferson County District Attorneyís office since 1985 and as the countyís district attorney for the last 10 years.

Originally from Black River and a graduate of Carthage Central School, Mrs. Intschert received her associate of applied science degree in criminal justice from Jefferson, followed by her bachelor of professional studies degree in criminal justice from the State University of New York (SUNY) Institute of Technology (then College of Technology) at Utica/Rome. She earned her juris doctor degree in faculty of law and jurisprudence from the University of Buffalo and was admitted to practice in New York State in 1985. She is a member of numerous professional organizations including the New York State (NYS) District Attorneys Association and the New York State Bar Association. Mrs. Intschertís professional expertise and her commitment to the North Country community have received extensive recognition statewide, including the prestigious Athenaģ Award she received from the Greater Watertown North Country Chamber of Commerce in 2006. 

The student commencement speaker is Adrienne H. Teachout of Orwell. Adrienne is a graduate of Sandy Creek Central School who enrolled at Jefferson in August of 2007 with 23 college credits in hand. She is graduating this evening with an associate of science degree in mathematics and science.

Adrienne has been named to the Presidentís List each semester throughout her studies at Jefferson and is a member of the national Phi Theta Kappa honor society. She is a recipient of the 2009 SUNY Chancellorís Award for Student Excellence and in April was named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-New York State Academic Team. On campus, she was recently honored as the Outstanding Mathematics Student from the Science Division and the Faculty Association Outstanding Student of the Year. 

While at Jefferson, Adrienne worked as a Student Ambassador for the Admissions Office, served as the student representative on the Academic Affairs Committee and as a peer tutor for physics. She is active in the Calvary Baptist Church in Pulaski where she is an American Sign Language interpreter. This fall, she plans to attend SUNY Cortland to pursue a degree in mathematics and physics education with a goal of teaching at the high school or college level.

During the commencement ceremony, four members of the JCC community will be awarded SUNY Chancellorís Awards for Excellence. The Chancellorís Awards recognize extraordinary achievement and encourage the continuation of excellence. Courtney A. Bauer of Redfield, secretary to the Business Division, will receive the first ever Chancellorís Award for Excellence in Classified Service. Mary M. Kinne of Watertown, assistant director of student activities, will be awarded the Chancellorís Award for Excellence in Professional Service. DeEtte M. Marshall of Pulaski, assistant professor of languages, will receive the Chancellorís Award for Excellence in Teaching. Ronald R. Palmer, Ph.D. of Deferiet, associate professor of history, will be awarded the Chancellorís Award for Excellence in Faculty Service. 

Additionally, two students will be recognized for having received SUNY Chancellorís Awards for Student Excellence earlier this year. The Chancellorís Award for Student Excellence acknowledges students who have best demonstrated the integration of academic excellence with other aspects of their lives: community service, athletics, creative and performing arts, leadership and career achievement. In April, Liana M. Newton of Lorraine and student commencement speaker Adrienne H. Teachout of Orwell were chosen by SUNY for the 2009 Chancellorís Awards for Student Excellence. 

Ms. Newton, a graduate of South Jefferson Central School, will receive an associate in science degree in business administration. With her 4.0 grade point average, Liana has been named to the Presidentís List for each semester of her enrollment at Jefferson and she is a member of the Phi Theta Kappa national honor society. Liana is jointly enrolled in the baccalaureate business administration program with SUNY Potsdam where she will continue her studies this fall.

Ms. Teachout will also be recognized along with Cheryl A. Gallahue of Fort Drum for being named to the All-New York Academic Team for Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for community colleges. To be chosen for the All-New York academic team, students must have a grade point average of at least 3.25 and have a history of scholarly achievement and outstanding service to campus or community. Ms. Gallahue, originally from Canandaigua, will receive her associate in applied science degree in nursing from Jefferson Community College. She has been named to the Presidentís List for four consecutive semesters at Jefferson. Cheryl plans to enroll in a baccalaureate program at SUNY Upstate Medical University and pursue a nursing career specializing in intensive care. She also begins work in the Progressive Care Unit at Samaritan Medical Center following graduation. 

Additionally, college president Carole A. McCoy and Jody R.A. LaLone, chair of the Jefferson Community College Board of Trustees, will honor Carthage resident and Jefferson alumnus Warren G. Fargo as recipient of the 2009 Jefferson Citation. The Jefferson Citation was established by the Jefferson Community College Board of Trustees to ďrecognize an individual or organization whose leadership and actions have demonstrated outstanding commitment to education and the vision and mission of Jefferson Community College.Ē



 By U.S. Mail:
 Newzjunky, Inc.
 P.O. Box 914
 Watertown, NY 13601